Rhodes, Kuesis share Channel League MVP honor


San Marcos senior George Kuesis and Santa Barbara High junior Sawyer Rhodes have been named co-MVPs of the Channel League for the 2015 season.

The pair led their respective teams to a share of the league championship and a CIF quarterfinal finish.

Santa Barbara, San Marcos and Dos Pueblos claimed six of the seven First Team selections. Dons goalie Justyn Barrios is the only senior on the team and is joined by teammate Chris Gaffney, a junior. San Marcos juniors Spencer Wood and Miles Cole represent the Royals while Taylor Gustason and Dylan Elliott made the First Team for Dos Pueblos. Ventura sophomore Payton Collins filled out the roster.

Nine players made the Second Team and 12 garnered Honorable Mentions.


Sawyer Rhodes SB (11)
George Kuesis SM (12)

First Team:
Justyn Barrios SB (G) (12)
Chris Gaffney SB (11)
Spencer Wood SM (11)
Miles Cole SM (11)
Payton Collins Ventura (10)
Taylor Gustason DP (11)
Dylan Elliott DP (11)

Second Team:
Adam Gross SB (11)
Jack Rottman SB (11)
Jesse Morrison SM (11)
Jack Palmer SM (12)
Calvin Thorpe Ventura (12)
Robert Rose Ventura (11)
Quinn Peacock DP (12)
Jonathon Harvey Buena (12)
Cole Morter Buena (12)

Honorable Mention:
Blake Spiller SB (12)
Evan Blix SB (10)
Adam Fuller SM (11)
Brenden Ring SM (12)
Michael Young Ventura (11)
Ryan McCombs Ventura (11)
Luke Plant DP (11)
Garrett Carlson DP (12)
Ben Cable DP (11)
Jason Teng DP (10)
Jarret Baldwin Buena (12)
Evan Hanley Buena (12)