Robertson named Channel League’s MVP

Channel League MVP Evan Robertson takes a shot during September’s SB Invitational. (Presidio Sports Photo)

Evan Robertson’s MVP Channel League season headlines the 2012 All-League teams that include 10 Santa Barbara High Dons, the runner-up team in CIF’s Southern Section Division 2.

Robertson takes home the top award while three teammates – Cristian Bridley, Skyler Matthews and Peter Loomis – made the First Team. Three more Dons made the Second Team and three are Honorable Mentions.?Santa Barbara High went undefeated in the Channel League before reaching the Division 2 CIF Championship match.

Robertson is a highly versatile perimeter player that totaled 67 goals(team-high), 59 assists (team-high), 40 steals, 27 drawn ejections and 15 field blocks(team-high). Robertson made the First Team his sophomore and junior seasons.

Second-place Dos Pueblos and third-place San Marcos placed two players each on the First Team. Ventura had one.

Each of the three local schools have an all-league first-teamer returning next season. Dos Pueblos’ Blake Parrish is just a sophomore, Santa Barbara’s Matthews is a junior, as is San Marcos’ Shane Hauschild.


MVP: Evan Robertson, Santa Barbara High, 12


Peter Loomis,?Santa Barbara High, 12
Cristian Bridley,?Santa Barbara High, 12
Skyler Matthews,?Santa Barbara High, 11
Blake Parrish, Dos Pueblos, 10
Grant Schroeder,?Dos Pueblos, 12
Parker Woodward (G),?San Marcos, 12
Shane Hauschild,?San Marcos, 11
Matt Jarvis, Ventura, 11


Nate Hunter,?Santa Barbara High, 12
Preston Schlagel,?Santa Barbara High, 12
Connor McManigal,?Santa Barbara High, 12
Spencer Kemp,?San Marcos, 11
Keyvan Golizadeh, San Marcos, 11
Bryan Lee, Ventura, 12
Tyler Gray, Ventura, 10
Tyler Remnant, Buena, 12
David Birdwell, Buena, 11


Emerson Pizzinat, San Marcos, 11
Nick Givens, Ventura, 10
Calvin Thorpe, Ventura, 9
Tyler Heffernan,?Santa Barbara High, 12
Mason Pereira,?Santa Barbara High, 12
Gio Goggia (G),?Santa Barbara High, 12
Scott Mahan,?Dos Pueblos, 10
Graham Young,?Dos Pueblos, 10
Emil Huebner (G),?Dos Pueblos, 11
Quinn Peacock,?Dos Pueblos, 9
Jake Griffin,?Dos Pueblos, 9