Van Alphen named Channel League’s top player

Dos Pueblos’ Sjors Van Alphen

Dos Pueblos’ Sjors Van Alphen has been named the Channel League’s MVP for boys water polo, helping lead the Chargers to a league title.

Van Alphen, who will be playing for the UCSB Gauchos next season, made the leap from last year’s second team to league MVP by providing leadership, scoring, and defense for the Chargers. Senior teammates Nic Lum and Philip Bates were named to the All-League First Team.

San Marcos’ Shane Hauschild is the youngest player to be named to the First Team. The sophomore was the Royals’ leading scorer this season.

Santa Barbara Don Evan Robertson was placed on the First Team for the second consecutive year. The junior’s senior teammates, Nick Johnson and goalie Sean McGee, also made the First Team.

2011 All-Channel League

Sjors Van Alphen 12 Dos Pueblos


Nic Lum 12 Dos Pueblos
Philip Bates 12 (G) Dos Pueblos
Nick Johnson 12 Santa Barbara
Sean McGee 12 (G) Santa Barbara
Evan Robertson 11 Santa Barbara
Kyle Hahn 12 Buena
Tim Allen 12 Ventura
Shane Hauschild 10 San Marcos


Grant Schroeder 11 Dos Pueblos
Sean Maher 12 (G) Ventura
Eric Birdsall 12 Ventura
Xander Rockney-Finger 12 Ventura
Alec Linz 12 Santa Barbara
Cristian Bridley 11 Santa Barbara
Preston Schlagel 11 Santa Barbara
Keyvan Golizadeh 11 San Marcos
David Birdwell 10 Buena


Parker Woodward 11 (G) Parker Woodward
James Sweeney 11 San Marcos
Matt Jarvis 10 Ventura
Brian Lee 11 Ventura
Skyler Matthews 10 Santa Barbara
Scott Mahan 10 Dos Pueblos
Graham Young 10 Dos Pueblos
Blake Parrish 9 Dos Pueblos