Beach Soccer Summer Slam has new champion in AV Boas

Santa Barbara Beach Soccer Summer Slam

beach soccer

2011 Beach Soccer Slam champions AV Boas (not in order of appearance): Joe Ferreira, Gene Deering, Jarryd Hensel, Roman Stahl, Tyler Dittman, Rony Arguetta, Erik Quevedo, Alan Gudino, Shawn McDonald. (Presidio Sports Photos)

The second annual Santa Barbara Beach Soccer Slam, presented by Community West Bank, played out on West Beach this Saturday, with eight teams dueling for a pair of titles.

A newcomer to the event became the eventual champion of the Open Division, as AV Boas brought down last year’s champions – Team Chi-Chi – in a hotly-contested championship match. With the score tied 2-2 after regulation, the two teams – both featuring current or former NCAA soccer players – battled through two scoreless overtime periods.

A shootout was needed to decide the winner, and Joe Ferriera’s solid play in goal helped Boas pull out the victory. Rony Arguetta and Roman Stahl converted penalty kicks for the winners.

Community West Bank FC featured Freddie De Leon, José Solorzano, Bryan Easterly, Tatiana Craivanu, Aslynn Taylor, Ana Garcia, Erich Kortz, Hector Gutierrez, Raul Quintero, and coach Joel Espino.

For the second year in a row, $500 was awarded to the title holders.

Community West Bank FC took home the Co-Ed title with a 6-5 victory over Team Beach Rat. CWB FC lost its first two matches in group play but found a groove to finish off the tournament on a two-game winning streak. After scoring a combined two goals in the first two games, CWB flipped a switch and piled up 12 goals in the final two matches.

Community West Bank FC earned a $100 gift card to The Neighboorhood, where the tournament’s after-party was hosted Saturday evening.

The Santa Barbara Beach Soccer Slam, presented by Community West Bank, is a Semana Nautica event.

Click on the photo to see an extended photo gallery