Bishop Diego sweeps TVL’s top awards

All-TVL Football MVPs

Bishop Diego’s Matt Shotwell, left, Mike Soracco, center, and AV Bennett, right. (Presidio Sports Photos)

Mike Soracco, AV Bennett and Matt Shotwell have claimed the Tri-Valley League’s premier awards for leading Bishop Diego to a dominant undefeated regular season.

Soracco was Bishop’s main rusher and the Cardinals’ leading scorer. Shotwell was a force on defense as Bishop Diego’s leading tackler, and made a strong impact on offense as well. Bennett, the league’s overall Most Valuable Player, was a star in all facets of the game: offense, defense and special teams.

Bennett accounted for 16 touchdowns on the season and was a threat to score every time he touched the ball. Four of his touchdowns came on running plays, five were receptions through the air, and seven were delivered on returns. As a defensive back, the dynamic playmaker returned three of his five interceptions for touchdowns. On special teams, Bennett raced for four scores on kickoff or punt returns. The speedy receiver added 29 catches for 513 yards and five touchdowns on offense.

Bennett’s special season finished with 1726 all-purpose yards in 13 games.

Shotwell was named the TVL’s Defensive Player of the Year for totaling 176 total tackles. The senior linebacker had a presence on offense too, reaching the endzone 10 times on the ground and through the air. His physical power made him an effective threat in the red zone and on third downs.

Speaking of physical, TVL Offensive Player of the Year Mike Soracco was Bishop Diego’s beefy ball carrier who was handed the rock 220 times this season. Soracco turned that into 1404 yards, an average of 108 yards per game. The 19 touchdowns for the season were a team high.

Bishop Diego head coach Tom Crawford was recognized as Coach of the Year.

The Cardinals added eight players to the All-League First Team.

Carpinteria, which finished second in the league standings, placed eight on the First Team.


School Position Name Grade
Bishop Diego LB Ashton Borgeson 10
Bishop Diego QB Spencer Stovesand 12
Bishop Diego OL Hector Nolasco 11
Bishop Diego OL Gavin Callow 11
Bishop Diego DL Michael Agnoli 11
Bishop Diego DL John Harris 10
Bishop Diego DL Julian Tico 12
Bishop Diego DB Dylan Streett 10
Carpinteria OL Jose Pancho Sanchez 12
Carpinteria RB Rudy Beltran 12
Carpinteria LB Brandon Jordan 12
Carpinteria DB Oscar Garcia 12
Carpinteria S Timmy Jimenez 12
Carpinteria FB Aaron Vargas 12
Carpinteria OL Jason Martinez 12
Carpinteria RB Jacob Garside 11
Fillmore DL Omar Valdivia 12
Fillmore LB Kevin Galvan 11
Fillmore DB George Tarango 11
Nordhoff OL Brandon Ocheltree 12
Nordhoff WR Regin Wilson 12
Nordhoff S Scott Barron 11
Nordhoff LB Johnny Contreras 12
Nordhoff WR Ryan Mahler 12
Nordhoff RB Jake Perry 11
Nordhoff WR Noah Ogborn 12



School Position Name Grade
Bishop Diego DL Eddie Miranda 11
Bishop Diego DB Bailey Salcedo 12
Bishop Diego K Jack Luckhurst 9
Bishop Diego DB Isaiah Veal 10
Bishop Diego LB Will Goodwin 10
Bishop Diego OL Roy Hapeman 12
Bishop Diego DB Evan McKeegan 10
Carpinteria LB Michael Arroyo 12
Carpinteria QB Jimmy Graves 12
Carpinteria TE Jax Montgomery 12
Carpinteria DL Samuel Ernst 12
Carpinteria OL Eduardo Lalo Lozano 11
Carpinteria DE Vincent Jordy Pimentel 12
Carpinteria OL Nicolas Garcia 12
Fillmore DB Ryan Lundin 12
Fillmore OL Seth Thomas 10
Fillmore OL Cody Isaac 11
Fillmore LB Onefre Jauregui 11
Nordhoff DL Spencer Bliss 12
Nordhoff OL Cameron Frisk 12
Nordhoff OL Homero Espana 12
Nordhoff OL Dane Campbell 12
Nordhoff QB Parker Johnsen 10
Nordhoff DB Dylan Merry 12
Nordhoff WR Daniel Williams 12


Bishop Diego OL James Renick 10
Bishop Diego WR Tommy Murillo 11
Bishop Diego DB Austin Bohnett 11
Carpinteria S Michael Sanchez 12
Carpinteria DB Michael Garibay 11
Fillmore RB Ramon Eskridge 9
Fillmore TE Fernando Padilla 12
Fillmore LB David Vargas 11
Nordhoff RB Tanner Garnsen 10
Nordhoff LB Austin Cansler 11
Nordhoff LB Ethane Sunder 10
Nordhoff LB Brendan Looker 11