XC: Chargers win team title at Mt. SAC

Hunter Clark and Josh McGregor finished in the top 10, leading the Dos Pueblos boys varsity cross country team to first place in its race at the Mt. San Antonio College Invitational on Saturday.

The Chargers edged out rival San Marcos, 77-91

Clark was the third individual finisher in 16:02, while McGregor came in seventh in 16:26.

“Clark improved 2:40 over last year’s time,” coach Joshua Christensen said. “McGregor ran a smart race; he went out hard, but was able to maintain his effort throughout.”

Rounding out the DP contingent were Nathan Alvarez (15, 16:49), Jeremiah McElwee (22, 17:10), Dustin Oakes (43, 17:39), Dunbar Mecklin (54, 18:01) and Jack Randmaa (63, 18:14).

Christina Rice placed sixth in the girls race in 19:06, and the Chargers finished 8th out of 13 teams.

The other DP finishers: Kailey Reardon (36, 20:48), Natalie Hawkins (40, 20:56), Joanna Zukin (59, 21:44), Emma York (63, 22:11), Kareena DeSilva (67, 22:25) and Molly Gans (80, 24:09).