BTen: Santa Barbara looks strong versus San Marcos

Miles Hale won two sets on Thursday on San Marcos' courts.

Playing against a blue backdrop didn’t bother Santa Barbara High or Miles Hale, who won two sets on Thursday at the San Marcos courts. (Presidio Sports Photos)


Santa Barbara defeated San Marcos by a score of 14-4 during a Channel League boys tennis match at the Royals Courts on Thursday afternoon.

“I was impressed with the quality of play on all the courts today,” said Dons head coach Gregg Tebbe. “There was some excellent tennis and sportsmanship displayed by both teams today and it was a pleasure to be part of this high-quality matchup.”

Santa Barbara was led by its doubles teams which won 8 out of 9 matches. The doubles teams of Jordan Rodnick paired with Logan Lender and Taggart Mills with Harry deBoer each swept all three of their matches.

In singles play, Kento Perera continued his unbeaten streak in Channel League by going 3-0 for San Marcos. The Dons were led by both Jackson Powell and Miles Hale, who each won key matches against Royals’ No. 2 player Lars Scannel.

“Jackson and Miles each won close matches against Lars and those victories helped put the match away early,” added coach Tebbe. “This also removed any hopes San Marcos may have had for an upset.”

With the victory, Santa Barbara improves to 10-2 overall, 5-0 in league. The 6th-ranked Dons play host to 8th-ranked Mira Costa in a highly anticipated matchup on Saturday.

“We are entering into the crunch time of our season and I like the way we are continuing to improve with every match,” concluded Tebbe.

San Marcos' Kento Perera swept three sets, providing the Royals with 3 of their 4 points.

San Marcos’ Kento Perera swept three sets, providing the Royals with 3 of their 4 points.


Santa Barbara singles:
Miles Hale 1-1
Jackson Powell 2-1
Max Mercurio 1-1
William Belfiore 1-0
Isaac Kershner 1-0
Jordan Rodnick / Logan Lender 3-0
Taggart Mills / Harry deBoer 3-0
Jake Sutton / Tyler Greenwald 2-1

San Marcos singles:
Kento Perera 3-0
Lars Scannel 0-3
D. Tilton 0-3
D. Coulson / C. Anderson 1-2
C. Krueger / S. Gutierrez 0-3
N. Leeds / R. Inatsy 0-3