San Marcos awarded 7 All-Academic CIF team titles

San Marcos High School was awarded 7 CIF – Southern Section Ford Academic Team Championships this week.

Boys Basketball, Girls Soccer, Boys Swim & Dive, Boys Track & Field, Girls Track & Field, Girls Volleyball, and Boys Water Polo all had the highest cumulative non-weighted grade point average for their sport.

The seven Academic team championships were the most of any school in Southern Section, which is comprised of 575 schools. In addition, San Marcos had the most number of teams in the top five of their respective sports; The runner-ups included Boys Golf and Girls Cross country, in 3rd place were Boys Tennis and Girls Water Polo, Wrestling took 4th place, while Boys Cross Country and Boys Volleyball were in 5th place. All 22 San Marcos athletic teams had over a 3.0 gpa. San Marcos has been the highest rated public high school in all of Southern Section over the past 6 years for student athlete’s gpa

The Santa Barbara Unified School District was well represented not only by San Marcos, but also by Dos Pueblos and Santa Barbara High. Dos Pueblos won 2 CIF-SS Ford Academic championships, with their Softball and Girls Tennis programs having the highest gpa in their sport. Santa Barbara High’s Girls Water Polo program also won a CIF-SS Ford Academic Championship. Dos Pueblos had 4 other programs finish in the top five: Girls Basketball, Girls Soccer, Boys Swim & Dive, Boys Track & Field. Santa Barbara’s Girls Soccer and Girls Track & Field also finished in the top 5 of their sports.

In addition, each school can name a female and male “Student Athlete of the Year,” which must be a senior who has maintained at least a 3.5 non-weighted gpa over the last three years, earned a varsity letter in at least one sport, and is involved with other co-curricular activities on campus. San Marcos has named Ashley Julio (Soccer, Track) and Colin Welsh (Football, Lacrosse) as their Student Athletes of the Year. Dos Pueblos has named Michael Nam (Golf) and Angela Penza (Soccer) as their Student Athletes of the Year.

All the Championship teams will be honored in an on field pre-game ceremony at the April 22 Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim game.