BBK: Dons’ Brace is Channel League MVP

Santa Barbara High's Bolden Brace is league MVP as a junior. (Presidio Sports Photo)

Santa Barbara High’s Bolden Brace is league MVP as a junior. (Presidio Sports Photo)

Santa Barbara High junior Bolden Brace was named the Most Valuable Player on the All-Channel League boys basketball team, and Dons coach Dave Bregante was named the Coach of the Year.

Brace and Bregante led the Dons to their third straight Channel League title. Brace’s MVP honor marks the third straight year a Santa Barbara player has won the award.

Under Bregante, Santa Barbara has won 27 of its last 28 games in league play.

Santa Barbara senior Max Henderson and junior Nick Busch were selected to the all-league first team.

San Marcos had two first-team players in juniors Scott Everman and Kele Mkpado. Buena seniors Jordan Starr and Taylor Sturgeon and Ventura senior Dustin Houck round out the team.

The second team included junior Ben Clay and seniors Chris Wagonhurst and Chris Givens of Santa Barbara; San Marcos senior Connor Everman and Dos Pueblos junior Jayson Williams.

Honorable mention choices: Santa Barbara: Ben Brown, Soph. San Marcos: Tyson Miller, Jr., Ryan McCarthy, Jr. Dos Pueblos: Nick Ditmeijer, Sr., Marcellous Gossett, Soph.

2014-15 All-Channel League Basketball:

Coach of the Year: Dave Bregante
League MVP: Bolden Brace (Jr. Santa Barbara)

Nick Busch (Jr. SB)
Max Henderson (Jr. SB)
Scott Everman ( Jr. SM)
Kele Mkpado ( Jr. SM)
Dustin Houck (Sr. V)
Jordan Starr (Sr. B)
Taylor Sturgen (Sr. B)

Ben Clay (Jr. SB)
Chris Wagonhurst (Sr. SB)
Chris Givens (Sr. SB)
Connor Everman (Sr. SM)
Allen Quintero (Sr. B)
Isaac Gilbert (Sr. V)
Zach Sourwine (Jr. V)
Jason Williams (Jr. DP)

Ben Brown ( So. SB)
Tyson Miller (Jr. SM)
Ryan McCarthy (Jr. SM)
Nick Ditmeijer (Sr. DP)
Marcellous Gossett (So. DP)
Alec Norman (Jr. V)
Bryce Fausett (Jr. V)
Tanner Gray( So. B)