Santa Barbara Tournament of Champions Schedule & Scoreboard

Click Image for larger version of Gold Division Bracket

Click Image for larger version of Gold Division Bracket



The venerable Santa Barbara Tournament of Champions is as strong as ever in 2014, attracting a host of talented teams from throughout California for the four-day girls basketball tournament.

In its 35th year, the four-day event begins Friday and finishes on Tuesday with a break on Sunday.

The tournament features four teams in the CalHiSports state top 30, 10 teams that played in last year’s state tournament, including a state champion and a runner-up, and multiple champions and runners-up from the Southern, North Coast, San Diego and Central sections of the CIF.

Defending champion Sierra Canyon returns as the Gold Division’s No. 1 seed.

The 32-team field is broken into Gold and Green Divisions. Games will be played at four locations: Santa Barbara High, San Marcos High, Cate School and Bishop Diego High School.

Host Santa Barbara, the Division 3 state runner-up last year, opens against Hanford, the Central Section Division 1 runner-up. The Dons are off to a 7-0 start this season, having just won the Gold Coast Tournament championship.

Local host schools San Marcos and Bishop Diego are playing in the Green Division, while Cate is not in the tournament.

Six teams in the field are ranked No. 1 in the latest CIF-Southern Section polls. They are: Buena (2A), Redondo Union (2AA), Orange Lutheran (3A), Sierra Canyon (4AA), Fairmont Prep (4A) and Bishop Diego (5A). Fairmont Prep and Bishop Diego are playing in the Green Division.

Among the other highly ranked teams are Vista Murrieta, 4th in Division 1AA, Bishop Montgomery, 2nd in 4AA and Oaks Christian, fifth in 4AA.

From other sections, Carondelet of Concord is a defending North Coast section champion; Hanford was the Central Section Division 1 runner-up and Mission Hills of San Marcos is top Division 1 team in the San Diego Section.

Presidio Sports will update this page with scores and updated game schedules throughout the four-day tournament.


Fri. Dec. 19

Sierra Canyon 67, Righetti 23
Carondelet 70, Buena 52
Ventura 53, Clovis North 25
Santa Barbara 68, Hanford 36
Redondo Union 66, St. Joseph (Santa Maria) 16
Mission Hills 54, Bishop Montgomery 46
Oaks Christian 46, Orange Lutheran 36
Vista Murrieta 58, Newbury Park 47

Sat. Dec. 20
Consolation Bracket
Hanford 58, Righetti 37
Buena 61, St. Joseph 40
Orange Lutheran 61, Bishop Montgomery 55
Clovis North 75, Newbury Park 54
Winner’s Bracket
Redondo Union 42, Santa Barbara High 37
Sierra Canyon 71, Santa Barbara 39
Ventura 59, Vista Murrieta 51
Oaks Christian 51, Mission Hills 45

Mon. Dec. 22
Consolation Bracket
St Joseph 58, Righetti 45
Bishop Montgomery 70, Newbury Park 63
Buena 59, Hanford 52
Orange Lutheran 41, Clovis North 31
Carondelet 75, Santa Barbara 69
Mission Hills 47, Vista Murrieta 40

Championship Semifinals
Ventura 35, Oaks Christian 31
Sierra Canyon 50, Redondo Union 41

Tues. Dec. 22
Championship: Sierra Canyon 56, Ventura 34
3rd Place: Oaks Christian 56, Redondo Union 50
5th place: Carondelet 59, Mission Hills 50
7th Place: Vista Murrieta 61, Santa Barbara 59
Consolation Championship: Orange Lutheran 48, Buena 39
11th Place: Hanford 53, Clovis North 41
13th place — Bishop Montgomery 61, St. Joseph 39
15th place — Newbury Park 37, Righetti 27


MVP — Kennedy Burke, Sierra Canyon
Cheyanne Wallace, Sierra Canyon
Barbara Rangel, Ventura
Kyleesha Green, Ventura
Amber Melgoza, Santa Barbara
Jaelyn Brown, Vista Murrieta
Taelor Griffin, Orange Lutheran
Katie Rathbun, Carondelet
Madison Adams, Mission Hills
Kyra Hamlin, Redondo Union
Katie Campbell, Oaks Christian


Fri. Dec. 19

Fairmont Prep 65, San Marcos 20
Rio Mesa 44, Nipomo 34
Pioneer Valley def. Nordhoff (forfeit)
Arroyo Grande 43, Bishop Diego 37
Edison 50, Santa Monica 28
Montgomery 54, Santa Ynez 41
San Clemente 66, San Luis Obispo 45
Poway 63, Oak Park 32

Sat. Dec. 20, at SBHS
Consolation Bracket
Santa Ynez 61, Nordhoff 44
Bishop Diego 49, San Marcos 21
Santa Monica 52, Nipomo 46
San Luis Obispo 51, Oak Park 44
Winner’s Bracket
Fairmont Prep 42, Arroyo Grande 37
Edison 48, Rio Mesa 42
Montgomery 54, Pioneer Valley 41
Poway 55, San Clemente 48

Mon. Dec. 22, at San Marcos
Consolation Bracket
Oak Park 81, Nordhoff 40
Nipomo 60, San Marcos 27
Santa Monica 50, Bishop Diego 40
San Luis Obispo 49, Santa Ynez 24
Arroyo Grande 26, Rio Mesa 23
San Clemente 62, Pioneer Valley 51
Championship semifinals
Fairmont Prep 66, Edison 53
Poway 48, Montgomery 44

Tues. Dec. 23
Championship — Fairmont Prep 54, Poway 48
3rd place — Edison 54, Montgomery 41
5th place — Arroyo Grande 58, San Clemente 38
7th place — Rio Mesa 50, Pioneer Valley 45
Consolation Championship — Santa Monica 44, San Luis Obispo 43
11th place — Bishop Diego 42, Santa Ynez 34
13th place — Nipomo 47, Oak Park 40
15th place — Nordhoff 39, San Marcos 37

MVP — Tristen Rollon, Fairmont Prep
Samantha Clemens, Fairmont Prep
Sierra Claudio, Poway
Rylee Johnson, Poway
Murrellene Woodson, Montgomery
Jackie Bento, Edison
Serena Saba, San Clemente
Ashley Herlihy, Arroyo Grande
Lisa Takahashi, Santa Monica
Bridget Smith, Rio Mesa