McCaffery, Cate trio selected All-CIF in 8-man football

Laguna Blanca quarterback Stephen McCaffery

Laguna Blanca quarterback Stephen McCaffery


Laguna Blanca senior quarterback Stephen McCaffery and three players from Cate have been named to the All-CIF Division 1 squad for 8-man football.

The Cate honorees are junior running back Isaiah Washington, senior lineman Peter Kim and junior defensive back/linebacker Dean Smith. Those players led the Rams to a 6-4 record and a quarterfinal playoff berth.

McCaffery was an offensive powerhouse for Laguna Blanca, which also reached the quarterfinals and finished the season at 6-4. McCaffery passed for 1,838 yards and 25 touchdowns and threw only seven interceptions. He also ran for 1,308 yards and 22 scores.

Thacher running back Lukas Cesena was named the Offensive MVP and linebacker Jeffery Llamas of division champion Mojave was the Defensive MVP and Mojave’s Nate Hayden was honored as the Player of the Year.