SWM: DP boys claim Channel League title with win over Dons

The Dos Pueblos boys 200 medley relay team posted a CIF automatic time, and Walker Bell, Federico Sarboraria and Alex Valente swam consideration times in individual events, leading the Chargers to a 116-70 win over Santa Barbara to clinch the Channel League team title on Friday.

DP’s girls also won, 106-77.

The Chargers team of Bell, Blake Parrish, Valente and Federico Sarboraria won the medley relay in a time of 1:37.16 seconds.

The four swimmers carried DP in individual events. Bell won the 200 free and 500 free, while Valente captured the 200 IM and 100 backstroke.

Sarboraria had CIF consideration times in the 50 free and 100 fly, while Parrish took the 100 free and 100 breaststroke.

Tanner Neal of Dos Pueblos won the diving with 204.35 points. Santa Barbara’s Regan Cullen scored 173.7 to finish second.

Ben Brewer placed second in the 200 IM and the 500 free and Cuyler Gabriel was second in the 100 fly and 100 back for the Dons. Peter Beeson posted season bests in the 100 and 200 free.

In the girls competition, Regan Eickert of DP was a double-winner with victories in the 200 freestyle and the 500 free.

Cassie Barkhorn in the 200 IM (2:13.04), Shannon Cleary in the 50 free (24.98) and the 200 medley, 200 free and 400 free relay teams posted CIF consideration times.

For Santa Barbara, Jessica Gaffney won the 100 fly, placed second in the 200 IM, and swam a lifetime best in the 400 free relay. Claire Lindstrom won the diving competition and Sierra McNeel-Moore placed second in the 50 free and 100 back.