Athletic Round Table inducts seven, celebrates year in sports

Hall-of-Fame-Banquet-2014The Athletic Round Table hosted its 47th annual Hall of Fame Banquet on Monday at the Fess Parker Double Tree Resort in Santa Barbara.

Seven new Hall of Fame members were inducted and many others received recognition for excellence in local athletics. Each of the seven inductees took some time at the podium to look back on their careers and to thank important supporters and role models that made a difference in their lives.

The Class of 2014 consists of Stefanie Christoferson, Megan Enyeart, Mike FitzGerald, Lola Trenwith Georgi, Scott Winnewisser, Rick Olmstead and Joan Russell Price.

Andrew Butcher was named High School Coach of the Year for leading Santa Barbara High’s girls basketball team to a CIF Southern Section Championship and a runner-up finish in the State Tournament. Chuck Melendez was the College Coach of the Year for taking the SBCC Women’s Golf team to a State Championship. Melendez was named the WSC Coach of the Year in the fall for the fifth time in the past 10 years.

More special recognition was spread around. Elaine Campo was the Master Athlete of the Year and Barbara Nwaba received the Open Athlete of the Year award. Cristian Quintanar was given the Special Olympics Mayor’s Trophy by Mayor Helene Schneider herself.

Santa Barbara Swim Club and Pony Baseball received the R.F. McFarland Memorial Trophy and the Russ Hargraves Memorial Award, respectively, for their longtime outstanding work in the community.

The Round Table annually delivers scholarships to local athletes. This year’s recipients were Dos Pueblos’ Leah Dunn, Bishop Diego’s Jack Braniff, and Carpinteria High’s Hannah Galsterer.