Five Bishop players earn All-CIF football honors

Bishop Diego landed five players and Carpinteria had two named to the All-CIF Northwest Division football team.

Four Bishop Diego players were picked to the 20-man defensive squad. They are back Anthony Carter, linebacker Christian Pearson, utility player BJ Murillo and lineman Nolan Tooley.

Cardinals running back Abel Gonzalez was selected to the 19-player offensive team.

Carpinteria quarterback Ian Craddock was named to the offensive team as a punter and Duncan Gordon was chosen as a defensive lineman.

The Oak Park passing combination of quarterback Chandler Whitbord and wide receiver Matt Byer were named Offensive co-Players of the Year. Linebacker Koby Welch of division-champion Nordhoff was the Defensive Player of the Year.

Nordhoff’s Tony Henney was named Coach of the Year.

There were no local players on the All-CIF Western Division team, but six standouts from Lompoc and one from Santa Ynez were selected.

Defensive lineman Clayton Hanley, is the honoree from Santa Ynez. The Lompoc players are running back A.J. Flores and linemen Chris Morales and Matt Zandonatti on offense, back Derrick Portis, lineman Ainuu Taua and utility player Austin Hayes on defense.

Righetti lineman Arnulfo Navarro and Pioneer Valley’s defensive lineman Mikey Ruiz were named to the All-CIF Northern Division squad.