WP: SBAC girls strike gold in San Diego


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Santa Barbara Aquatics Club Girls teams struck Gold at the 2013 San Diego County Cup, the nation’s largest 8th Grade and under tournament over the weekend.

Celebrating its 20th Anniversary, the San Diego Cup is the largest tournament of its kind in the United States, hosting 188 teams playing in 22 courses at 18 pools throughout San Diego County.

The 2013 Cup was among the most successful in SBAC history as the girls teams won two of three possible championships and took silver in the third.

For the second year in a row, Santa Barbara 14U girls captured titles in the AA and A Divisions.

The fourteen and under AA squad included Paige Hauschild, Abbi Hill, Olivia Kistler, Lara Kostruba, Kailie McGeoy, Ryann Neushul, Brittany Prentice, Toni Shackelford, Britni Tisdale, and Sophia Trumbull (Goalie). The team is coached by Cathy Neushul and Connor Levoff.

The 14U AA’s defeated clubs from Northwood, Lamorinda, Rose Bowl, and Socal (Tustin) before defeating perennial power Commerce in the final.

Santa Barbara faced a challenge from Socal in the morning, falling behind 2-0 in the first quarter and then rallying to lead by as much as three at the half. Balanced scoring from Paige Hauschild, Ryann Neushul, and Abbi Hill along with stellar center play from Brittany Prentice and outstanding set defense from Toni Shackelford paced Santa Barbara to a 7-5 victory.

In the final Commerce could not break Santa Barbara’s tenacious defense and went down 5-1 in the first half. SBAC then cruised to an 8-6 victory. Toni Shackelford was name Tournament MVP for the 14AA Division.

SBAC’s A champions, led by coaches Connor Levoff and Cathy Neushul, included Lili-Rose Akin, Hannah Boss, Petra Huebner-Schurch (Goalie), Lola Macy, Thea Neushul, Chloe Pena, Grace Raisin, Georgia Ransone, Fiona Sonni, Jaymie Stryker, Alexandra Szymczak, and Jocelyn Thorp.

The 14U A’s defeated Foothill, Del Mar, Davis, Trojan, and SET B, before re-rounding with Davis in the final. Preliminary games with Del Mar and Davis were one point victories keyed by the outstanding goalie play of Petra Huebner-Schurch.

In the final Santa Barbara fell behind 3-1 before half but rallied to tie the game 4-4 in the fourth. The two teams scored a goal apiece in two 3 minute overtime periods. The championship was decided with 12 seconds left in sudden death when Georgia Ransone’s shot from eight meters barred into the upper right hand corner for a thrilling 5-4 SBAC victory.

Ransone was named Tournament MVP of the 14A Division. Thea Neushul and Jocelyn Thorp were named to the All-Tournament Team.

Coach Pam Tanase’s 12U Girls squad included Abby Brummett, Jordan Duggan, Sara Engmyr, Abigail Hendrix, Anna Hepp, Abbi Hill, Claire Kronen, Cassidy Miller, Kayla Peacock, Ella Prentice, and Sabina Shackelford.

The 12’s went undefeated through two days of pool play, overcoming Newport, Laguna, SET, Pacific, and Socal before rounding with United in the championship game.

Paced by scoring from Abbi Hill, Abigail Hendrix, and Cassidy Ball along with some key saves in goal from Fiona Kuesis, the 12’s were down at half but rallied to cut United’s lead to 7-5 early in the fourth quarter.

SBAC was unable to catch a strong United squad falling 8-5 and taking Silver at the 2013 San Diego Cup.