SWM: Chargers earn sixth at ultra fast CIF D1 Championships

Dos Pueblos finished sixth at the CIF Division 1 Swimming & Diving Championships on Saturday in a meet that saw a national record fall, several new state records set, and the Chargers race to personal bests across the board.

DP’s 200 medley boys team broke a meet record set last year by Corona del Mar yet still finished third because two teams went even faster. Dos Pueblos lowered its season-best time to 1:32.04.


“Every split was as fast as anyone’s ever gone at DP,” said Chargers head coach Chris Parrish.

Walker Bell led off, followed by breaststroker Blake Parrish and butterfly standout Alex Valente, with Grant Schroeder finishing it off with the freestyle leg.

CDM was right there again, placing second behind champion Loyola. The Cubs posted a new state record time of 1:31.16.

Individually, Valente lowered his personal best in the 100 butterfly with a time of 47.41. The PR was good for second as Redlands’ Kyle Gornay became the new state record holder with a time of 46.83. Parrish noted that Gornay was only the second high school swimmer to ever eclipse 47 seconds.

Gornay also set a state record while winning the 100 backstroke in a time of 47.04. Valente was seventh in that event.

The national record came from JSerra’s 400 freestyle relay team, setting a new standard of 3:21.20.

JSerra’s girls won the team CIF championship and Capistrano Valley claimed the boys title.

“This was the fastest meet I’ve ever seen,” Parrish said, a veteran of Southern California high school swimming.

The sixth place was Dos Pueblos’ strongest team result at CIF Championships since 2006.

Blake Parrish placed fourth in the 100 breaststroke with a personal-best time of 56.40.

Lester Wright placed fifth for Dos Pueblos in the diving competition that was won by El Toro’s Mark Anderson.

“Every swim was a personal best, everyone was happy with where they finished,” Parrish said. “So nice to finish the season on such a high.”

The Dos Pueblos girls won two consolation titles in the 200 IM and the 200 freestyle relay. Shannon Cleary, Reagan Eickert, Maelyn Adornetto and Janelle Nguyen combined for a time of 3:32.38.

Nguyen swam to the consolation title in the 200 IM in a time of 2:04.51.