SBCC’s 2013 football schedule returns home games to Saturdays

The 2013 SBCC football schedule has been announced and the Vaquero home games are moving back to Saturdays.

The season opener is Sept. 7 vs. Hancock at Righetti High. Kickoff will be at 4 p.m. The home opener is Saturday, Sept. 14 vs. East L.A. at 1 p.m. in La Playa Stadium.

It?s the first time in at least a decade that the Vaqueros will start their home games at 1 p.m.

?I?m excited that we?re moving back to Saturdays for our home games,? said coach Craig Moropoulos. ?Fridays were OK and I liked that experience but moving to Saturdays will be positive for a lot of reasons. The No. 1 reason is that Saturday afternoon is the traditional time for college football.?

Other home games are Sept. 28 vs. L.A. Valley in the American Pacific Conference opener, Oct. 5 (L.A. Southwest), Nov. 2 (Santa Monica) and Nov. 9 (Glendale). All home games will start at 1 p.m. with the exception of the Nov. 9 contest, which begins at 6 p.m. after the Santa Barbara Marathon.

?We didn?t really want to move to Friday night home dates in the first place,? said athletic director Ryan Byrne. ?We were trying to limit the overtime costs. By moving back to Saturday afternoons, we feel like we?re going to get the best of both worlds.

?We?ll be able to have our students, local fans and media attend with no conflicts. And by having the games at 1 p.m., it will allow us to reduce overhead costs because it won?t be quite as long of a day.?

The other four road games are Sept. 21 at Compton (1 p.m.), Oct. 19 at Antelope Valley (7 p.m.), Oct. 26 at L.A. Pierce (7 p.m.) and Nov. 16 at West L.A. (1 p.m.).

2013 SCHEDULE


Saturday Sep 7 Hancock Righetti High 4?p.m.
Saturday Sep 14 East L.A. La Playa Stadium 1 p.m.
Saturday Sep 21 Compton Compton 1?p.m.
Saturday Sep 28 *L.A. Valley La Playa Stadium 1 p.m.
Saturday Oct 5 *L.A. Southwest La Playa Stadium 1?p.m.
Saturday Oct 12 ?— Bye —
Saturday Oct 19 *Antelope Valley Lancaster 7?p.m.
Saturday Oct 26 *L.A. Pierce Woodland Hills 7?p.m.
Saturday Nov 2 *Santa Monica La Playa Stadium 1 p.m.
Saturday Nov 9 *Glendale La Playa Stadium 6 p.m.
Saturday Nov 16 *West L.A. Culver City 1?p.m.

 

Speak Your Mind

*