Dos Pueblos, San Marcos combine for 8 All-Academic CIF Teams

Eight local high school teams were given All-CIF Academic recognition for the 2012-13 school year, with the honor bestowed on five teams from Dos Pueblos and three from San Marcos.

The annual CIF Southern Section-Ford Academic Awards were released today.?These teams collectively had the highest GPAs of any other school in the Southern Section with an enrollment of 1500 or higher. The awards are based on cumultive team GPA from the fall semester.

“We are very excited about winning these five CIF-SS Academic Championships this year,” wrote Chargers Athletic Director Dan Feldhaus in an email. “Credit goes to the students, teacher and parents for this accomplishment.? At Dos Pueblos, we feel athletics are an extension of the classroom and hope Charger athletes always strive to be a true student-athletes.”

Dos Pueblos’ All-Academic Teams are girls softball, girls tennis, boys water polo, boys swimming and girls swimming. The five teams from Dos Pueblos matched Palos Verdes for the most from any school.

For San Marcos, it was the boys basketball team, girls cross country and girls track & field. The Royals also had eight other teams in the top-five of their respective sport, including three runner-ups.

“The entire San Marcos High School community is extremely proud of our Athletic programs. I am so impressed with our scholar athletes for what they have accomplished in the classroom,” said Royals Athletic Director Abe Jahadhmy.

All of the student-athletes on the All-Acadmic Teams are invited to Angel Stadium on April 24 for an on-field celebration of their accomplishment.

Individual “Student-Athlete of the Year” distinctions were also released, given to a top student-athlete from the each school in any sport. From San Marcos, it’s Ian Hall and Hannah Koper. Santa Barbara named Connor McManigal and Katie Joseff. Dos Pueblos went with Forbes Bainou and Agnetta Cleland.

In the small schools division, with enrollment of 1499 or fewer, Carpinteria’s Erin Saito and Matt Kliewer were recognized.

Find the all the All-Academic Teams from the Southern Section HERE.