SBAC 12U and 18U girls teams repeat as USA Water Polo national club champions

The Santa Barbara Aquatics Club’s 18-under girls water polo team won its second straight USA Water Polo National Club championship.

Two girls water polo teams from the Santa Barbara Aquatics Club won gold medals and another earned a bronze at the USA Water Polo National Club Championships in San Diego recently.

The 18-under and 12-under teams captured division championships for the second straight year while the 14U squad took third place

Coached by Cathy Neushul, the? SBAC?s 18U team defeated talented teams from Huntington Beach Water Polo Club, City of Commerce, and SoCal Water Polo Club en route to repeating as National Club Championship. Sophie Trabucco was named Championship MVP.

Members of the team are: Rocio Fesembeck, Bess Grode, Charlotte Hendrix, Kodi Hill, Halie Johnson, Laurel Kistler, Hannah Koper, Lauren McCaslin, Jamie Neushul, Kelsey O?Brien, Madeline Trabucco, Sophie Trabucco, and Tess Wardle.

The team is now preparing for the National Junior Olympic Championships at Stanford on Aug. 2-5.

The SBAC 12-under team captured the USA Water Polo National Club championship.

The SBAC?s 12U team of coach Chuckie Roth defeated strong teams from Laguna Beach and SoCal to win the National Club Championship for the second straight summer. The team included Paige Hauschild, Abigail Hendrix, Abbi Hill, Mia Imbernino, Olivia Kistler, Ryann Neushul, Thea Neushul, Sarah Owens, Chloe Pena, Georgia Ransone, Alex Szmczak, Josie Thorpe, and Sophia Trumbull.

Ryann Neushul was named tournament MVP. Roth?s ?Regulators? are now looking forward to defending their National Junior Olympic title in August.

The 14U team of Connor Levoff lost a close semifinal game to eventual champion City of Commerce and then defeated SET Water Polo Club to take home the bronze medal.

In the boys 12U Division, Jacob Ehrhardt of Santa Barbara was named the all-tournament MVP. The team finished in fifth place.

Santa Barbara’s 14-under squad brought home a bronze medal.(Photos by Peter Neushul)