SBSC’s elite U16 White earns trip to WCDA Finals

Santa Barbara Soccer Club's U16 White team will be traveling to Washington state for the WCDA Finals in early June.

SBSC’s Boys U16 White Team will be participating in the WCDA Finals to be held in Redmond, Washington June 1-3, 2012.

The trip to the finals was the result of 8 consecutive wins versus teams from the Western states played from August 2011 through March 2012 leading to a 1st place finish in the Southwest Division.

The boys beat some high quality opponents including Diablo FC 3 -0 who won the North Pacific Div. of WCDA & are the defending champions of the prestigious Surf Cup. The team continues to compete at a high level and is currently amongst the top teams in National Premier League after having reached the semifinals of the 2011 National cup and winning the Gold Division of CSL earning a promotion to Premier for the 2012-13 season.

The history of this team is reflective of the development that takes place at SBSC. The team has slowly worked its way through the ranks by finishing 1st in every CSL Division from Bronze through Gold along the way. The base for the team success comes from a core of group of players that have been playing together since they were U10. Players like Robbie Landeros, Pepe Barron, Tanner Charest, Ricky Arroyo, Luis Ortiz, Eric Kam, Victor Saldana and John Requejo who is currently with the US National U18 Team.

The development of this group of players was initiated by Matt Winecki. During the last two years the team has been coached by Rudy Ybarra and Nelson Cestoni. Currently they are led by Coaching Director Lloyd Biggs and Jesus Landeros.

The roster now includes players from Ventura to San Luis Obispo. These players from throughout the coast continue to gel, develop, have a great time and compete at a high level within the structure of SBSC.

The complete current roster is:

Eric Cam, Ventura HS
Robbie Landeros, San Marcos HS
Auggie Andrade, Nordhoff HS
Ricky Arroyo, Carpinteria HS
Ricky Reyes, Cabrillo HS
Noah Blacker, Santa Ynez HS
Abu Danladi, Dunn HS
Juan Robles, Pioneer Valley HS
Travis Caldwell, San Luis Obispo HS
Daniel Gail, Santa Ynez HS
Pepe Barron, Santa Barbara HS
Damian Lopez, Nordhoff HS
Luis Ortiz, Bishop Diego HS
Tanner Charest, San Marcos HS
Victor Saldana, Carpinteria HS
Enzo Troiani, Santa Barbara HS
Miguel Padron, Pioneer Valley HS
Teddy Mauze, Tamalpais HS