Perez is repeat winner of City Golf Championship

Andrew Perez went wire to wire to make it back-to-back titles at the 52nd annual Santa Barbara City Golf Championship on Monday.

Perez shot a 3-under par 67 to finish at 10-under 200 and win for the second straight year at Santa Barbara Golf Club.

“It’s fun to win here,” said Perez.

The former Santa Barbara High CIF-Southern Section champion was threatened briefly by Allen Geiberger, but he pulled away with consecutive birdies on the par-3 No. 13 and par-4 No. 14, and played par golf the rest of the way.

“It was a struggle, a little bit, up and down,” he said of the final round. “A lot of it had to do with me being around the greens. My chipping was phenomenal, just getting inside of five feet. My putting was decent.”

Geiberger, a Santa Barbara native and the son of Mr. 59, Al Geiberger, finished second at 205 and two-time champion Kevin Marsh was third at 207. Geiberger shot a final-round 71 and Marsh a 70.

“The guy deserves it,” Geiberger said of Perez. “I was giving it my all, but my putts weren’t dropping all day.”

Perez is the first back-to-back champion since UCSB’s Tony Verna in 2006-07 and sixth in tournament history.

His 200 was a three-shot improvement over his winning score from last year.

Perez came into the tournament on a hot streak. He was the individual winner at the Southern California Regionals and the California Community College State Finals while playing for College of the Desert.

He said he plans to continue defending his several municipal golf titles (Los Angeles is next) before going to PGA Qualifying School later in the year.

In the other flights, Gavin Lee shot a final-round 76 and pulled away to win the Palmer Flight at 223; Matthew Miane won the Hogan Flight at 233; Tom Seidl edged Martin Brown, 233-234, to win the Nicklaus Flight; Greg Bristol shot 246 to take the Trevino Flight; Larry Rodriguez won the Snead Flight with a 251, and Don Dick was the Player Flight winner with a 263.


Final Gross Scores

Andrew Perez…62-71-67—200

Allen Geiberger…68-66-71—205

Kevin Marsh…68-69-70—207

Kevin Ruby…67-71-72—210

Paul Misko…71-70-60—210

Aaron West…70-74-69—213

Brent Brockermeyer…67-73-73—213

Buddy Duncan…68-73-74—215

Brandon Gama…66-76-74—216

Thayer White–70-74-72—216

George Downing…69-77-71—217

Rory Doll…74-71-73—218

Albert Corral…68-76-75—219

Douglas Head…72-76-71—219

Jared Hentila…73-74-72—219

Matt Sobczak…71-73-75—219

Mike McCaskey…69-77-73—219

Rick Taniguchi…71-75-73—219

Tyler Schwanz…73-74-73—220

Andrew Skjonsby…68-79-74—221

Brandon Shaw…70-78-73—221

Kris Butkys…70-73-79—222

Dave Aarons…76-72-75—223

David Pichon…71-76-76—223

Peter Gullickson…76-71-77—224

Cameron Tennant…71-77-77—225

Brian Walker…75-73-80—228

Ray Gerow…72-76-80—228