Grant honored as Channel League tennis MVP

Chris Grant, the Channel League singles champion, was named the league’s MVP for the 2011 boys tennis season.

Grant, a junior, helped the Dons win the league team tennis title with a perfect 8-0 record. They advanced to the quarterfinals of the CIF Division 1 playoffs.

Santa Barbara had five players named to the all-league first team, and they’re all underclassmen: juniors Sammer Aziz and Logan Liddell, sophomores Mitchell Kuhn and Graham Maassen and freshman Morgan Hale.

Also named to the first team are Dos Pueblos freshman Jared Madison, the league runnerup and San Marcos sophomore Petar Jivkov.

Ventura senior Michael Lowe and sophomores Jacob Rucker and Brendan McClain rounded out the first team.

Second Team

Santa Barbara: Jack Damen, Adrian Huffard, Jeremy Kirchhoff and Cooper Matthieson.

San Marcos: Travis Enholm, Parker Funk, Garrett Timmons.

Dos Pueblos Eric Katz, Jake Roberts.

Buena: Noah Killman.

Honorable Mention

Santa Barbara: Avery Chernin, Ryan Chung, Nico Pollero

San Marcos: Jackson Foster, Nik Kipelainen, Jackson Mann, Adam Smith.

Dos Pueblos: Mason Casady, Richard Cheng, Caleb Franzen, Peter Shao, Greg Steigerwald.

Buena: Jon Oyan, Andres Parra, Brian Perrett, Peter Prudhomme.

Ventura: O’Ryan Bow, Brandon Bushnell, Parker Harris, Cullen McApline.