Dons wrap up Channel League tennis title

Santa Barbara tennis clinched the outright Channel League title in Greg Tebbe’s first year as head coach by defeating Dos Pueblos 11-7 on Thursday.

Santa Barbara improves to 7-0 in Channel League. Dos Pueblos drops to 3-3.

Santa Barbara had a commanding lead after the second round, up 10-2. With the Dons starters sitting for the third round, Dos Pueblos was able to make a 5-1 run and make the score close.

Santa Barbara’s doubles starters went undefeated and combined for five of six doubles points for the day.

Jared Madison led the way for Dos Pueblos singles by sweeping his sets against a strong Santa Barbara lineup.

“The Chargers gave everything they had today and left it on the court,” Frech said. “Jared Madison was calm and cool as usual under pressure, and swept his three sets.”

Sammer Aziz was 2-1 for Santa Barbara in singles.

Santa Barbara 11 Dos Pueblos 7

Santa Barbara 11
Graham Maasen 1-1
Mitchell Kuhn 1-1
Ryan Chung 1-0
Sammer Aziz 2-1
Austin Trevillian 0-1
Chris Grant / Logan Liddell 1-0
Chris Grant / Avery Chernin 1-0
Avery Chernin / Penn Stussy 0-1
Morgan Hale / Jack Damen 2-0
Patrick Kim / Connor Kerns 0-1
Cooper Matthieson / Jeremy Kirchhoff 2-0
Jeremy Kirchhoff / Marc Conliffe 0-1

Dos Pueblos 7
Greg Steigerwald 1-2
Sean Handley 0-3
Jared Madison 3-0
Eric Katz / Alex Yang 0-1
Eric Katz / Ziad Marcus 1-1
Jake Roberts / Caleb Franzen 1-2
Mason Casady / Peter Shaw 1-2