UCSB surfers ride away with national title

Buoyed by winning performances from Lipoa Kahaluehi and Cole Robbins, the UCSB Gold Surf Team captured the National Collegiate Surfing championship at Salt Creek in Dana Point.

It is the 12th National Scholastic Surfing Association crown for UCSB, which beat out 16 schools in the four-day competition.

UCSB scored 100 points while Cal State San Marcos and Point Loma tied for second with 86.

For Kahaluehi, who has been competing in NSAA events for several years, the victory in the women’s collegiate event, was a breakthrough.

“I was 13 when I came to my first Nationals and now I’m 21 now so it took me eight years to win my first Nationals,” Kahaluehi said on the NSAA web site. “The surf for the Nationals at Salt Creek is always good but this year the waves were more peaky and consistent so it provided great scoring opportunities. There were both rights and lefts so it was nice to compete with plenty of waves. I’ll be a senior next year at UCSB and I have been passed the torch of captain of the team so I’m looking forward to next season.”

Kahaluehi will take over for Colin Anderson, who is a graduate of San Marcos High.

Gaucho teammate Rachel Harris finished second in the women’s competition.

Carpinteria’s Cole Robbins won the college longboard final over UCSB teammate Kevin Osborne. It was the fourth national longboard championship in Robbins’ NSAA career. He won the National Open and Explorer Championships in 2008 and the National High School Longboard title in 2007.

Robbins was dominating in the semifinals with two rides scoring 9.75 and 9.25 for a 19.00 total score, the highest at the National Championships. He scored 14.00 in the final while Osborne finished at 12.15.

The NSAA College Surfing Championships will be televised on Fox Sports Net on Wednesday, July 7. Check local listings for show times.




1. UCSB Gold 100

2. (tie) CSU San Marcos 86

Point Loma 86

4. North Carolina-Wilmington 83

5. San Diego State A 81

6. Mira Costa 78

7. UCSD 75

8. Florida Institute of Technology 58

9. Saddleback 49

10. (tie) Florida Atlantic 44

UCSB Gaucho 44

12. (tie) UCSB Dream 38

Long Beach State  38

14. Central Florida 35

15. USC 21

San Diego State B 16


  1. Geoffrey Brown says

    All right! Five foot swells South Beach, dude! This was often heard on Modoc Hall at 6:30 a.m.