League-champion Royals all over All-Channel League

J.P. Dodson led his San Marcos basketball team to its first Channel League title since 2002 this year and has been rewarded for the feat by being named league MVP.

At the same time, Jarrod Bradley earned his first Coach of the Year award for ruling over a Royals team that won 20 games, finishing 20-5 after a second-round CIF loss at Corona del Mar.

Big-man Christian Mkpado landed on the first team along with sharp-shooter Chad Ridenour. Three Royals – Josh Guild, Benny Kirkwood Johnny Manzo – are second-teamers while honorable mentions Thayer White and Bryant Koopmans made it eight Royals recognized.

Dos Pueblos, which finished third in league behind San Marcos and Ventura, put Jay Larinan and Matt McClenathen on the first team and Malik Heptot on the second team. Three Chargers were honorable mentions: Eric Arroyo, Robbie Mestas and Pablo Miranda.

Daniel Marshall and Andrew Adams were singled out for keeping Santa Barbara competive in many league games despite a winless record. Marshall made the second team and Adams is an honorable mention.


MVP: J.P. Dodson, San Marcos

Coach of the Year: Jarrod Bradley, San Marcos


Dylan Houck, Ventura
Jordan Garrett, Ventura
Robert Munoz, Buena
Christian Mkpado, San Marcos
Chad Ridenour, San Marcos
Jay Larinan, Dos Pueblos
Matt McClenathen, Dos Pueblos


Trent Reeves, Ventura
Josh Tice, Ventura
Jordan Turner, Buena
Josh Guild, San Marcos
Benny Kirkwood, San Marcos
Johnny Manzo, San Marcos
Malik Heptot, Dos Pueblos
Daniel Marshall, Santa Barbara


Connor McGuire, Buena
Zach Gwin, Ventura
Jared Wilson, Ventura
Andrew Adams, Santa Barbara
Thayer White, San Marcos
Bryant Koopmans, San Marcos
Eric Arroyo, Dos Pueblos
Robbie Mestas, Dos Pueblos
Pablo Miranda, Dos Pueblos